About Us

Welcome to LCHSAR.org, the online presence of the Lawrence County Historical Society of Arkansas. We are a non-profit organization devoted to the preservation of the historical heritage of Lawrence County, Arkansas.

Upcoming Events

Monthly Society Meetings

Regularly scheduled meetings are the first Monday of each month
6:30 pm
Lawrence County Meeting Room (Next to Lawrence County Library)
Walnut Ridge, AR

The Lawrence County Historical Society has been a vital organization for the preservation, appreciation, and advancement of the rich history of Lawrence County since 1964.  The restoration of the Powhatan Courthouse was a major Lawrence County project in 1970 and the society took a leading role in seeing this project to fruition.

The society meets monthly and hosts an annual Spring Banquet where outstanding speakers from Arkansas and Lawrence County are featured.  The society prints the Lawrence County Historical Journal, an excellent collection of historical articles about the county, under the guidance of Sue Whitmire, Linda Pierce, and Debbie Archer, editors.

This organization takes tremenous pride in keeping the splendid history of the “Mother of Counties” alive for generations to come.

Current Projects

  • Annual Pearlfest held each September at the Powhatan Courthouse State Park
  • Continued additions to National Register of Historic Places
  • Continued restoration of historical buildings at Powhatan
  • Supporting new Archives Facility at Powhatan
  • Planning 200th County Celebration in 2015

Current Officers

  • President – Lloyd Clark
  • Vice President – Lesia Phillips
  • Secretary – Catherine Richey
  • Treasurer(s) – Jon & Lesa Walter

Past Presidents

  • J.T. Midkiff (1964 – 1968)
  • Jerry Gibbens (1977 – 1978)
  • Viola Meadows (1978 – 1981)
  • Tom Moore (1981 – 1984)
  • Evelyn Flippo (1984 – 1987)
  • Willene Kirkland (1987 – 1990)
  • Pat Haley (1990 – 1992)
  • Darlene Moore (1992 – 1995)
  • Lloyd Clark (1995 – present)

Comments are closed.